Tuesday, 9 December 2014

Retirements and transitions in our School Community Libraries

I'd like to use this post to pay tribute to all who have worked in our School Community part of our public library network & are looking to retire or move on to other roles over the Christmas break.  Of course in mentioning a few people I know I run the risk of leaving out others.  So can I start by saying that our communities across the State are very fortunate to have many people who are working in libraries for whom work is a passion & a vocation more than a job.  For all staff who "go the extra mile" to provide customers with what they need - this post is a "thanks" to, and recognition to you all.

We have some people retiring who have been members of our network from the very inception of School Community Libraries and have served their communities so well for in some cases up to 40 years!! We also have staff who have come into the library profession for a very short period of time, but who have made an impact in their local libraries and communities in that time.  To all who are leaving us - all the best.

I'd also like to pay tribute to staff who have retired during the year, after years of service.  So in no particular order I'd like to recognise the long term contributors to our School Community Library network who I am aware are leaving or who have left the network: To Toni Sheridan (40 years at Lock!), Tessa Martin at Minlaton, Glenys Aird currently at Leigh Creek, Helen Bowering of Coomandook, Janice McInnis of Hawker, and Bob Muster currently at Lameroo thanks for all you have done for our network over the years.  And to others who I'm unaware of, please accept this post as recognition of your service to your local communities over so many years. 

I've been sent a lovely picture of the sequence of Teacher Librarians who have run the Minlaton SCL since its inception. They are standing in order of their service at the library.  See below.

L to R Denise Rutherford, 1st Minlaton TL, Jan Forrest,
Tessa Martin (who retired this year) and next year's TL Rick Cook

No comments:

Post a Comment